Health

Sunblock Is The New Black

Morning routine (not in any particular order): Shower, brush teeth, feed dogs, prep food for the day, style hair, drink 2 cups of coffee and apply sunblock.

Just like brushing my teeth and drinking my coffee, applying sunblock is something I do every morning before I the make-up goes on.

I’ve been a proponent and avid user of sun block for years. When I was a kid, my aunt and cousins tanned while I just burned. So I learned early on that sunburns hurt and that I didn’t want to be in pain. I applied sun block, wore a hat and covered up. I spent my whole life pale and I learned to accept it. I’ll share a little secret, I barely have any lines on my face and I think that’s because I stood out of the sun. You never caught me basking in the sun’s rays. Nope. And now I’m glad I made those choices.

Being fair skinned, I’ve paid attention to the warnings of skin cancer and over the years I’ve learned a few things that I’d like to share. Maybe you already know this (then it never hurts to hear it again), maybe you don’t (then it never hurts to learn something).

Lets take a little quiz (it’s multiple choice):

How much sunblock should you apply (keeping in mind you will be reapplying every 30-40 minutes when you are outside).
a. a palm full
b. a tablespoon
c. a shot glass full

I need to apply sunblock when it’s…
a. sunny out
b. cloudy out
c. all of the above

Which is a Class 1 carcinogen?
a. arsenic
b. cigarettes
c. indoor tanning
d. all of the above?

Answers:
1. C
2. C
3. D

Did I know anything of this when I was a teenager? No. Do teenagers today know any of this? Yes. There’s been an open dialogue about the dangers of tanning, whether it’s outdoor or indoor, but yet too many of us seem to not remember the message. Maybe it’s the extra step of putting on the sunblock first thing in the morning or re-applying when we’re having fun. Maybe it’s because we don’t think it can happen to us.

Maybe we need a reality check.

1 out of 5 Americans will develop skin cancer
Exposure to tanning beds increases the risk of melanoma, the greatest risk are for women aged 45 years or younger.
Melanoma incidence rates have been increasing for the past 30 years.
Skin cancer is the most common cancer in the United States.
Melanoma, the deadliest form of skin cancer, is the most common cancer for 25- to 29-year-olds.

As we get ready to celebrate the unofficial start of summer on Memorial Day with cookouts and fireworks lets not forget sun block. Lets make sunblock our new black – the must-have essential for everyday.

9 thoughts on “Sunblock Is The New Black

  1. It’s not just the fair skinned that have to be careful! Everyone should wear sunblock regardless of skin coloring. My youngest son tans wonderfully and is never burnt by the sun but yet he is the one we had a skin cancer scare with. Luckily all turned out to be okay but the doctor is very cautious with him as she has concerns about his skin and he his yearly exams include a skin screening to sure no other suspicious spots are seen.

  2. That must have been so frightening. You’re right, everybody needs to be aware of the damage the sun can do to us and use protection. So glad to hear that everything turned out well for your son!

  3. Sunscreen is SO important! But you have to be careful what sunscreen you buy, some contain toxic chemicals! Way to get the word out about the importance of protecting your skin!

    1. You’re right about being selective about which sunscreen you use, the whole point is to stay healthy and not cause other problems.

    1. Thank you so much for visiting and for the invite. I’ve taken you up on your offer. I can’t wait to meet the other bloggers over at your link and read your blog. Have a great weekend!

  4. Not proud of this, but even with my fair skin, I tried my best for a tan when I was a teenager! I’ve finally learned my lesson though and try to keep a hat and sunscreen on at all times. Great, informative piece, Debra. And thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

