Health

Embracing The Sun

Here in Connecticut we went from spring which felt more like fall to summer in a matter of a day. That’s right. We went from 60 degree days to 90 degrees. Just like that. So this post seems perfectly timed. Today I’m going to share how I protect myself from the sun. Now, lets be honest here, there’s no guarantee that all of these precautions will save me from having to deal with health issues in the future. There’s also been some discussion on some of the ingredients in the sunscreens currently available. But a gal has to do something. Right?.

Especially because you can’t sit on the sidelines and let life pass you by. No, you got to get out there whether it’s sunny, cloudy or foggy.

So, here’s what this gal does on a regular basis.

Hats.

I love hats and how cool is it that an accessory can have health benefits? The floppier, the better.

Sunglasses.

I am rarely outside without them. One of the reasons is because the sun does bother my eyes. I’ve heard that people with blue eyes are more sensitive to the sun’s rays. I’m not sure if that’s true but it could be.

Sunscreen.

As I’ve written before, I apply sunscreen liberally and deliberately when I am outside. This is a must-have year round. And it’s even important when it’s cloudy outside.

Shade.

I also seek shade when I am outside, especially if I’m outside for a long period of time.

Warm weather is supposed to be enjoyed and these are the things I do so that I can enjoy spring and summer. When I pack my bag for Memorial Day weekend, I will be including sunscreen because I don’t want to miss one minute of the fun.

Be safe!

2 thoughts on “Embracing The Sun

Leave a Reply

