Fashion · Fashion Translation Collage

Polar Express Inspiration

0913MagCovers 009

Fashion week continues here at AMT with a look at what I thought was a fun fashion layout in Marie Claire magazine. Polar Express showed furry boots and bags that add a pop of color to our warm weather clothing. I have to admit, I love faux fur. I have a few pieces that I simply love but I’m not sure about faux fur in pops of color. I’m on the fence about this trend but I think I could do if I went a little conservative. I know, conservative and colorful faux fur (say that three times) doesn’t sound like they go hand-in-hand. But maybe I could work it.

I went looking for some pieces that were fun (lets face it faux fur is just fun), not too-over-the-top and tasteful. To be honest, I wasn’t sure if I’d find anything. That meant I really didn’t know what kind of post I was going to end up with. As I looked through countless photos I came up short on pops of color in faux fur that I would EVER wear. But, I found a few pieces that I did really like. So I’m tweaking this trend a little bit and focusing on just the faux fur and not the pop of color. This is what fashion is for women in our age group. We find the trend, we tweak and we wear what looks best on our bodies.

I did come across some colorful faux fur that I feel completely comfortable tossing on the sofa or draping over the bed. Faux fur pillows and throws! And I’m not the only one in our house who loves the softness and coziness of faux fur. Our Shih-Tzu Susie loves the luxury of faux fur.

I fell in love with all three bags I added to my Fashion Inspiration Collage. I love, love, love the hobo bag. If I could find one a little bit more in my budget I might actually carry it. The pill box hat is too snow-bunny cute for words. I have one similar and I wait all winter for the coldest day to wear it.

A lot of the women I know don’t wear faux fur. I think it’s a great statement piece, I mean you’re not going to be missed when you’re carrying a fur hobo bag or wearing a furry hat. I’ve had some gals say to me that they could never pull it off. Maybe there is a certain confidence level needed to wear something that is not going to blend in. Maybe I’ve gotten to the point in life that I really don’t care if someone thinks my faux fur vest is too much for grocery shopping.

So, is there a faux fur piece in your wardrobe future? Thinking about a little color?

Polar Express Inspiration

Limi Feu hobo handbag
lagarconne.com

River Island handbag
$63 – riverisland.com

Ted Baker leather purse
$155 – asos.com

French Connection scarve
$71 – johnlewis.com

Leave a Reply

