Home · Homekeeping

Spring Cleaning – The Closet

In the second part of my Spring Cleaning series we’re heading into the closet to do some serious work. I love this part of spring cleaning, changing out my wardrobe, seeing what I have for the season, identifying what I need for the new season. I believe this is what a fashionista lives for. Surrounded by clothes.

canstockphoto18369386

While this is fun for me, it is a part of my spring cleaning so I have to stay focused on the job at at. Here’s what I’m looking for when I’m doing this job:

– clothing I haven’t worn for at least two seasons
– clothing that has come to the end of it’s lifespan
– clothing that no longer fits (and that’s all I’m saying on this subject πŸ™‚ )

This will leave me with two piles – donate and keep.

With my two piles I have my closet completely empty and now I can do some cleaning. I’ll vacuum, clean the shelves and take a moment to review how I have my clothing and accessories organized within the space.

I usually end up with piles of clothes everywhere in the bedroom. All of my fall/winter clothes, my seasonless clothing, and my spring/summer clothing cover every surface in the bedroom. Shoes and boots scattered all over. This isn’t a pretty sight and definitely not for the faint of heart. But I’ve been here before and I know I can get through.

I am relentless when I’m going through the clothes and accessories. The one lesson I’ve learned is over the years is that my closet shouldn’t be a time capsule. Favorite spectator pumps from my first job (white and navy, loved them) should be long gone…just like the job.

The one major improvement I’ve made in my closets has been new hangers. A girlfriend turned me onto Huggable Hangers from HSN and I’m obsessed with them. You can get similar hangers at TJ Maxx and other stores. Visually the closet looks cleaner and with slim hangers you get to hang more stuff in the closet. You know what that means…more shopping!

There is a point where I do start to feel tired and overwhelmed and like it’s never going to end. But I stay calm, take a deep breath and carry on. You’ll be done in no time. I also make time to break for lunch (yes, it’s an all day process).

Put back what you’ll keep, decide what you’ll store what you’ll need for fall/winter and pack up what you’ll be donating and stuff ino a bag what you’ll be tossing.

With enough stamina spring cleaning your closet will be a piece of cake. Actually, after spring cleaning all your closets I think you’ll burn enough calories to have a piece of cake as a treat for such hard work.

Will you be heading into the closet for some spring cleaning?

5 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning – The Closet

  1. Yes, it’s time to spring clean my closet! I always love the change of the seasons. Pulling out seasonal clothes from storage is almost like shopping from my own closet. I love the Huggable Hangars too. I need to complete my collection πŸ™‚

    1. It’s great to meet another Huggable Hangers believer. Yes, you do need to complete your collection (that’s right, I’m an enabler πŸ™‚ ). You’re right about the feeling of shopping your own closet. It does feel like that. Thanks for stopping by. Have a great weekend.

  2. Hi Debra, thank you for commenting at So What to Twenty! I love new comments because it gives me the opportunity to discover new blogs. Yours is fantastic. Spring cleaning is always difficult for me because my wardrobe is based on great classic pieces. Normally, I store items away as the season changes. On occasion I’ll have items to donate. At this stage of my life, I feel like my wardrobe is perfectly curated to my lifestyle. The only thing that still needs work is my handbag wardrobe. I never seem to have the “right” bag. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

