Life

A Week In Review

This past week I read a great post on How To Double Your Productivity in Five Minutes or Less. The title had me. The post inspired me. I like the timer idea. I admit, I’ve fallen down the rabbit hole a few times (okay, more than a few times) when I’ve visited Pinterest.

Field Trip…
Lets start with the hightlight of last week – the day I spent observing the food photographer for Fine Cooking magazine (I work for the publishing company that publishes the magazine) in hopes of improving my photography skills. It was a great day. I learned and had a snack. πŸ™‚ The Fine Cooking staff made what they do look so effortless but I immediately realized I have a lot to turn. For six photos for a 4 page feature it took ALL day (snacked while working). Thursday was definitely a day well spent and I appreciate their willingness to share with me what they do. Here are some pictures I took of the test kitchen.

FineCookingTestKit 001

FineCookingTestKit 004

FineCookingTestKit 005

When life gives you lemons…
Actually, these lemons came from my critique partner who lives in California. I haven’t decided what I’ll bake. I’m thinking lemon bars.

FineCookingTestKit 012

Speaking of my critique partner…

I have kinda disappeared from blogging in order to finish the first draft of a manuscript. Phew. It’s done and waiting patiently for me to return to it with a fresh set of eyes. In the meantime, I was supposed to write a one page summary for another manuscript but I ended up with a four page synopsis. Woo-hoo!!!

Welcoming a new season…
Spring has finally sprung here in Connecticut and I’ve been busy outside getting ready for planting. I had to trim our ornamental grasses. It’s a good thing I’m in shape. The bigger ones were a handful, I felt like I was wrestling. I love these grasses, they look beautiful in the dead of winter and in the summer but they are a bitch to trim down.

123012Snow 001

Going old school…
Took a break from errands and yard work for a simple but satisfying grilled cheese sandwich. I’ve been seeing grilled cheese sandwiches everywhere and they’re so gourmet now. I didn’t have time for gourmet so I used American cheese and added slices of tomato. Yummy.

FineCookingTestKit 023

FineCookingTestKit 026

One more picture…
Sunday mornings it’s hard to get out of bed. Apparently today Susie just couldn’t muster up the energy to get up. πŸ™‚

1185572_10201911893495334_4926027368079052865_n

That’s my week in review. How was your week? What are you looking forward to this coming week? Is it hard to get out of the bed on a Sunday?

Leave a Reply

