Weekend Bites

Weekend Bites

Today is Halloween and I’m so excited about that. I love, love, love Halloween. But, I’ve realized that Halloween is a turning point in the season. The trees are mostly bare, the temperatures have dipped, the days are shorter and this year we have a forecast of snow over the weekend. Ugh. It’ll probably be just a dusting and just enough to be annoying but once you turn the corner to snow there’s no going back.

While I’m not ready to dig out my cold-weather, show removable clothing I am ready to start thinking about comfort food perfect for wintery days. And I thought I’d share a few favorite posts I found from fellow food bloggers.

How does a steamy bowl of Creamy Tomato Tortellini soup sound? It sounds delicious enough to warm you up on a cold, windy day. Jenn over at Eat Cake For Dinner shared the recipe.

Soup is always a good choice to serve on any cold day and this Loaded Baked Potato soup from Jenny over at Honey & Birch would be a perfect choice. I’m envisioning a big bowl, crusty bread and a fire flickering from the fireplace. A perfect scene for a perfect meal.

How about a salad on the side for either one of those soup recipes? I adore seasonal salads, they can not only brighten up a gray, cold day, they can also add balance to a meal that may be a little heavy with calories. Scouting the produce section of my local grocery stores or visiting a farmer’s market, I love finding something different to add to my everyday salad. Heidi from Foodie Crush shared a Beet, Carrot and Pomegranate salad recipe.

Now lets take a moment to think about dessert. I found this recipe over at Sewlicious Home Decor. Marti created adorable Apple Pie Cups with Ice Cream. I love apple pie anytime of the year but with the holiday season right around the corner, I think these little desserts would be a hit served at either a family dinner or a potluck. Could you imagine them arranged on a festive serving platter? Too stinkin’ cute. Another plus for these little treats is that they are portioned controlled.

GoodThings1

Okay, I’m totally inspired now and kinda hoping for a drastic dip in the temperature. How did that happen?

What’s your favorite go-to dish when the temps dip?

Debra

Leave a Reply

