Friday Five · Holidays

Friday Five – Thanksgiving Edition

Thanksgiving is less than a week away and there are so many things about the holiday I enjoy…no, make that love. Today I’ll share five of those things with you.

Add a little bit of body text

1. Stuffing. Yes, that’s right. I love stuffing and I wait all year to make it and then feast on it. LOL. And it’s awesome the next day. Actually, I think I prefer it on Friday and that’s why there’s always extra made.

2. The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. The parade is a must-watch and has been since I was a kid. Growing up in New York City it was a part of our holiday but I never went to a parade, I just watched it at home (all warm and cozy), then one year while I was working at Macy’s Herald Square in the Cosmetics buying office I was a parade participant. That’s right, I was dancing turkey and Dixie Carter was the celebrity on the float I was assigned it.

3. Christmas carols. With Santa making his appearance at the end of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade Christmas music isn’t too far behind and on Friday I’m all ready for the tunes of the season.

4. Pumpkin pie. Hands down this pie is the centerpiece of my Thanksgiving baking. I usually bake an apple pie and a batch of pumpkin chocolate chips cookies to round out the desserts. (I’m getting seriously hungry right now).

5.The day after Thanksgiving. That’s right, I love that Friday and it’s not because it’s Black Friday (did that once just to have the experience and vowed never, ever to do that again) but because it’s such a peaceful day before the real craziness of December happens. I’ve found that Friday to be laid back and I usually don’t have plans so I can chill for most of the day, watch some holiday movies (thank you Hallmark Channel) and then warm up some leftovers and serve what’s left of the desserts. I love the day after Thanksgiving.

There’s my Friday Fives for Thanksgiving. What’s one or two (or five) things you love about the holiday? And how do you spend the Friday after Thanksgiving?

Happy Friday!

2 thoughts on “Friday Five – Thanksgiving Edition

Leave a Reply

