Orgazining · Planners

Back to Paper

On Christmas day I went looking on You Tube for a specific video, I found it and I also found another video the writer had filmed about her brand new Filofax. I had some time to spare, so I watched it. Then I watched a bunch more videos from the suggested videos shown to the right of the original video. Yep, I fell down the rabbit hole. I didn’t climb out until Sunday night.

Video after video (I did manage to breakaway for Christmas dinner and chores that NEEDED to get done over the long weekend, but at every chance I was watching videos on putting together a planner) I watched in awe of those vloggers with their decorated, organized planners. I’d never heard of Washi tape but by Sunday night I had a roll. πŸ™‚

Let me back up a moment. I used a DayRunner planner religiously for years (in fact I had four) then about two years ago when I was using the compact size planner I made the decision to go digital after all I had an iPhone and an iPad, surely that would be most logical thing to do – why carry an iPad & a planner?

During the first year I used a small calendar and my mobile devices so it seemed like it was working for me. Then in 2014 I ditched the paper completely and by the end of the year I realized how lost I felt. Then seeing all the decorating that can be done to a planner (I really had no idea) and how it could organize my life (I’d forgotten) I was hooked.

I immediately went to the cabinet in my office and pulled out my planners.

Planner2

Only two were left from my pre-digital days. The pink one is a Filofax that my girlfriend gave me one birthday and I love that it’s pink. Love it! The black one is my DayRunner and I have been working with that since December 26th. I’ve made the decision to give the planners 3 months and if by March I’m using them consistently and they are keeping me organized I will purchase a Filofax in either the personal size or the A5 size.

I’ve been having fun working on my planner and I think like the bloggers I’ve been watching on You Tube I will make a video when I make the switch over to the Filofax (yeah, I’m guessing that the planner is going to be a must-have for me going forward.) I already feel so much more organized. πŸ™‚

What surprised me the most was the number of young women I saw using paper planners. I expected to see bloggers who were in my age range, since we used these planners when we were in our 20s & 30s, but seeing college-aged women using paper planners when digital and women who obviously used digital in their day-to-day lives did catch me off guard. Also, the amount of time spent on customizing and personalizing the planners surprised me. There are videos on their nightly planner routines! There’s a blogosphere full of printables out there for your planner. Yes, I even printed one. These gals also added charms to their planners. Wow! I have to admit, this time around I’m open to having my planner be less serious. πŸ™‚

Now, I’d like to take a moment to share some links of the fellow bloggers I discovered while down the rabbit hole. I was amazed that there are blogs solely dedicated to Filofaxs. Who knew? Be warned, you visit these websites at your own risk. I am not responsible if you fall down the rabbit hole. πŸ™‚

Alexis from Stange&Charmed wrote about Reaching Planner Nirvana with 2 Flouro Pink Planners. She has a lot of good stuff on her blog and definitely checkout her You Tube channel.

Kristina from Pretty Shiny Sparkly compared Filofax to Erin Condren planners. I have some girlfriends who are big Erin Condren fans. To each her own.

Jennifer from My Purpley Life has amassed a significant collection of Filofaxs and her weekly updates on her planner is awesome.

Philofaxy is a wealth of information on Filofaxs and even includes spotlight interviews on Filofax fans and their Web Finds post is filled with great links.

Charming inspiration is what I found over at Becky’s Paper Route. This is a blog I’ll keep an eye on.

I loved this detailed post on planner organization over at A Bowl Full of Lemons. While you’re there, check out her posts on home office organization. Yeah, that’s a whole other rabbit hole.

Oh, while I was sinking deeper and deeper into You Tube land I came across something that I just absolutely had to have and by Sunday it was ordered and arrived on Wednesday. A pen case from Kipling. It was the monkey charm that did me in. At least now I have a place to store my Washi Tape. Oh, boy, I think I need a 12 step-program.

Pencase1

I think now would be a good time to end this post before I end up missing the whole day. πŸ™‚ I’ve shared my plan on becoming more organized for 2015 and the tool I will be using. What about you? Do you use a planner? If so, what kind? Digital, ringed or spiral-bound? Or do you just use a small pocket calendar and a wall calendar?

14 thoughts on “Back to Paper

    1. Hi Robin, It seemed like the planners are being used like scrapbooks when it comes to decorating. I was in awe of how detailed their planning is – school, weddings, budgets. Very impressive. Made me feel like a slacker. πŸ™‚ I love using my planner. Thanks for stopping by today.

  1. Every year I look forward to buying a pretty paper journal. I love having it on my desk and making entries with a colorful pen. Sure, I use my fancy smart phone for some calendar entries, but I can’t live without my pretty paper journal. It makes me feel nostalgic.

  2. I love having a old-fashioned paper planner. I am so surrounded by digital that I tend to ignore little reminders on my phone! And the process of writing things down and checking them off just makes me happy–not the same as digitally checking a box. πŸ™‚

    1. Hi Jenny, Same here. In fact, I’m so bad with my phone that my husband texted me to tell me to check my text messages because I missed his original message. LOL. Thanks for stopping by to visit.

  3. This is the year I go back to a paper planner as well. I am trying not to only depend on my iPhone since it also has my social networks on it and causes distractions. Handwriting out my plans and tasks helps me stay organized.

    1. I hope you have great success with your paper planner. So far I am enjoying mine. I feel like a weight has been lifted off of me. I agree with you about handwriting plans and notes helping you stay organized. Thank you for visiting today.

    1. I hope you didn’t fall down that rabbit hole of videos. πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting and if you do go back to paper, I hope you’ll share your planner on your blog.

  4. I can’t get used to using the calendar on my phone and still carry a small planner in my purse. I like to be able to write notes on the sides and seeing everything laid out on paper just works better for me. Good to know that younger people are still using paper, too!

    1. I’ve been using my planner again now for close to a month and I love it. Paper does work better for me too. Everything is centralized, I even managed to mail a birthday card on time. That was huge for me! Thanks for stopping by today. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

