Fitness

My Blonde Moment (yeah, I have them)

For this week’s Wellness Wednesday I selected to share my healthy living goals. Goals come in all sizes and degree of difficulty. No goal is to small if it moves you toward the bigger picture. With that in mind, I’ve decided on two new goals for 2015.

23196laes4xxyrl

First, lets start with my blonde moment which relates directly to my first goal. I’ve made the goal previously to workout consistently. I used to do that and I also used to work 8-4, which was a perfect work schedule for me. But the evil day job (EDJ for short) switched my hours to 9-5 and my consistency went down the tubes (okay, fine, I can’t blame the EDJ entirely for that but it’s worth a shot, right?). My goal was to workout every other day but on Tuesdays and Wednesdays it is impossible for me to workout at night (and no, I don’t do morning workouts). I struggled, I was frustrated, I was at a loss of what to do because I wasn’t meeting my goal.

Fast-forward to last night when I face-palmed my forehead and said, “duh”. My “week” doesn’t have to begin on Monday and I don’t need to workout every other day if I switch up the workouts (cardio, toning, stretch, repeat). Ugh, what a blonde moment.

My workout schedule will be this – Thursday to Monday, alternating workouts on those days. Tuesdays and Wednesdays will be my rest days. Don’t even ask how long it’s taken me to figure this out. πŸ™‚

Goal #2 is to drink more water on the weekends. I do drink water during the day at the EDJ but on the weekends? Not so much and I do feel the effects of being dehydrated by Sunday night. So water will be my first choice of beverage come Saturday and Sunday.

There you have it, my two goals for this year. They’re easily attainable but pack a punch if I succeed each week.

I’d love to know what your healthy goal(s) are for 2015. And be sure to check out the Wellness Wednesday link-up.

14 thoughts on “My Blonde Moment (yeah, I have them)

  1. Great post. I like the goals you have set for yourself. 2015, I work out 5 days a week at home since its too cold here in NYC to go to the gym after work. I workout a different body part each day and eating healthy is the key along with working out.

    1. NYC is cold! I was down there on Saturday and I was freezing just walking around the neighborhood. I love working out at home, it’s so convenient. I really don’t want to go to the gym right after work and once I’m home I really don’t want to head out into the dark and cold. Home is better. Totally agree with your workout philosophy. Thanks for stopping by today.

  2. It takes effort to determine what works best for a schedule. For myself, I have to workout in the morning. If I don’t, I find it too easy to put it off. Something about the mornings is refreshing to me and makes my entire day run much smoother. I hope this works out for you. Have fun with it!

    1. It’s great that you found a workout schedule that works for you. Isn’t it great when you day runs smoother? πŸ™‚ I just had fun with a Zumba workout. Thanks for visiting.

    1. Hi Debbie, From now until the end of February I’ll be walking on my treadmill and doing Zumba dvds for cardio and for strength training I’ll be choosing various dvds from my collections. Thanks for stopping by today!

  3. OK you are putting me to shame, my work out schedule has been slack lately, must get my butt off the office chair! Thanks for pushing me off, here I go . . .

    1. I’m glad I was able to help…but to be honest if you knew what my workout schedule has been…yeah, I’m not going to fess up to that. πŸ™‚ I’m actually now excited to workout again now that I have a clear plan. Have a great day!

  4. Awesome Debra! It’s always great to find what works for us instead of trying to fit in and do what everyone else is doing. I love that EDJ hah I’m glad my EDJ days are over πŸ˜€ All the best with your goals, you are well prepared!

  5. At first, I was confused about what “blonde moment” means. After that, I was like, “oh, I see”.. πŸ˜€ That’s new idiom for me.. hehe

    Your workout schedule are tight. It makes me rethink about my workout schedule *blush*. Thank for sharing your story. I hope you make it! ^^

    1. Hi Yanet, I’m glad you found out what a “blonde moment” is. I hear all the jokes. πŸ™‚ Good luck with whatever you decide for your workout schedule. It doesn’t have to be a lot, it just needs to be consistent. Thank you for stopping by.

    1. What I do during the week (and this is where I fail on the weekends) is that I fill my water bottles up and pack them in my lunch bag then I set them out on my desk so I don’t forget about them. I have to do that on the weekends. Thanks for stopping by to visit!

Leave a Reply

