Body Image

It’s The Only One I Get

For today’s Wednesday Wellness link-up, hosted by Maureen of Scoops of Joy and Rina of Cute Coconut I selected the the prompt of why I love my body.

YogaWomanonBeach

We’ve all had the “I hate my body” moment. For some of us, those moments are fleeting – they go as fast as they came. Unfortunately for some women that moment extends to days, weeks, months and sometimes even years. They become depressed or fall victim to disordered eating or give up on themselves entirely. I find it incredibly sad when a woman bases her self-worth on the size of jeans she’s able to fit into.

Where there’s no self-worth there is no self-love.

If you constantly point out your muffin top or your thunder thighs when you look in the mirror, you’re missing the most important thing that is standing in front of you and that is YOU. We only get one body, one life. Are you really going to waste it because there are some lines on your face and some cellulite action happening on the back of your legs?

I’ve been fortunate, I haven’t spent my life hating my body. Sure, I’ve had those “I hate my body” moments. Some moments did last longer than others, but I snapped out of it. How and why?

I only get one body. I only get one life. And if you verbally abuse yourself long enough, and you treat your body like a garbage can dumping all sorts of crap into it day after and day and refuse to give it the opportunity to move on a regular basis then as you age you will have a body that cannot function and you will be spending the best years of your life sitting on a chair watching the world pass you by. I know this to be a truth. I see women every day who are younger than me or just a couple of years older than me live with aches and pains and low-energy levels. I don’t want that kind of body or that kind of life.

I love my body because it carries me through the day. My body picks up my dogs to hug and my body walks so I can lead our little pack. My body can curl up on a sofa so I can cuddle with my husband. My body can fill up the bird feeders every morning so I can enjoy a little bit of nature. My body can carry those 40 pound bags of bird seed so the little guys don’t go hungry. My body can stand in the kitchen for hours so I can bake Christmas cookies. My body allows me to live each day to its fullest. That’s why I love my body.

Loving isn’t always easy. We have to love the body we have and not hold out that love until our body morphs into the body we want. That song lyric “love the one you’re with” applies here. Love what you got.

Feel free to share why you love your body. Is there a particular part you love? Me? My legs.

Also, check out the other bloggers who are joining us this week by visiting Scoops of Joy or Cute Coconut.

14 thoughts on “It’s The Only One I Get

  1. I loved this paragraph “I only get one body. I only get one life. And if you verbally abuse yourself long enough . . .” Well said and I couldn’t agree more. I also posted why I love my body, I haven’t been as wise as you, I did hate my body at times, but I love it now!
    mg (reflectionsfromme.com)

    1. Thank you, Mackenzie. After I wrote that sentence I realized that it was a very, very long sentence. But hey, it worked. πŸ™‚ Happy to know that you now love your body. I’m not perfect, I still have my moments but they are luckily only temporary.

  2. Debra, I get emotional reading this. Because of my abuse history, my self worth is really bad. I used to hate myself badly. And you nailed it right here: “Where there’s no self-worth there is no self-love.” I mean I do love myself but maybe not as much as I should be and I am working on it daily by mindfully choosing my thoughts, my internal voices. I try to be gentler and kinder. It is a practice…I am so so happy to read this.

    Thank you for sharing your words that touches my soul and my heart *tears*. I wish I could hug you right now.

    1. Maureen, your comments are very touching to me. I remember hearing someone say years ago that we would never say negative things to our friends but we say them freely to ourselves. That was an ah-ha moment for me. I hope you that your practice is successful. πŸ™‚

    1. Hi Janine, I’m not perfect, I have my moments and I hope that you can find at least one thing about yourself to appreciate and value every single day.

  3. What a lovely positive post! I am guilty of standing in front of the mirror and focusing on my hips, butt and flabby bits… I need to focus more on my smile! πŸ™‚ Sim @ Simslife.co.uk x

    1. Thank you. Definitely focus on your smile. The world sees that, the people who love you see that. They really don’t care about hips, butts or anything else. πŸ™‚

  4. I absolutely love this and so needed to hear it today! We are leaving soon for a trip to Mexico for our 25th anniversary and I was starting to struggle with the thought of getting in a bathing suit. But my body is miraculous! And being married 25 years is a miracle, too:). Thanks for writing.

    1. Hi Jennifer, Happy Anniversary! I hope you have a great trip. You’re absolutely right, your body is miraculous. Next month we’ll be celebrating 25 years too. Wow, where has the time gone?

Leave a Reply

